Waiting for God-oh to bring you a boyo? (Part 1)

Standard

“I got tired of waiting
Wondering if you were ever coming around
My faith in you was fading…”

Taylor Swift, Love Story

Have you ever heard of “Waiting for Godot”? I was first told about it by a high school teacher of mine (Mrs Tod with one “d”). The play is about two characters, Vladimir and Estragon, who “wait endlessly in vain for someone named Godot (pronounced god-oh).” (Wikipedia, Waiting for Godot). While they are waiting, they keep themselves occupied doing random things and that’s what the story is about. The story reminds me of how I’m going through a season of waiting for God to come through for me in different areas. And I often feel like I’m in limbo, biding my time until this “Big Promise” comes to pass. Today I want to talk about marriage, ’cause that’s what’s on my radar at the moment.

This is the point where Taylor Swift enters the discussion (hopefully with no interference from Kanye West this time). That song sums up the the same discontent in my own heart- a heart that’s tired of waiting! You’d think that at 21 years of age I shouldn’t be thinking about matters such as these right? But in spite of my age, my anxiety persists! I’ve often felt like the lady in the picture: sitting in the waiting room in my wedding dress, waiting for that man to come and save me from this curse of singleness.

I think this is something that’s common to all women- “religious”, agnostic or atheist- but I also think that there’s a different dynamic altogether when you’re a Christian woman. In the Christian faith and culture, we value marriage as being a God-ordained relationship, one that reflects God’s relationship with us (as seen in Ephesians 5: 25, for example). Being a disciple of Jesus Christ means that I’ve chosen to live by a standard of sexual purity, so while other women can claim that they understand the anxiety of having to wait for “The One” , the boundaries I choose to put in place, in terms of emotional and physical intimacy with the opposite sex, make it that much harder to wait! I love God and I choose to live like this because I believe Him when He says it’s best but it’s hard not to feel like ” singleness is a disease and marriage is the cure for it.”

In the next few posts I’m going to examine some of this thinking and look into some biblical approaches. Any thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Waiting for God-oh to bring you a boyo? (Part 1)

What are your thoughts?

